The principles of MORALITY are the basis of a proper life system

Yama & Niyama perfectly illustrate how one should deal with the environment, and with the surrounding world. They are supportive instruments in creating the frame of mind to perform the HIGHER PRACTICES OF CONCENTRATION & MEDITATION

🔸 IN ANCIENT TIMES, gurus used to demand that disciples first PROVE THEMSELVES IN MORALITY & ALTRUISM before teaching them further practices

🔸 YAMA – social morality, control of oneself in relation to the external environment

🔸 NIYAMA – individual regulation of one’s internal environment


 A short overview of the 8 limbs of Patanjali’s Ashtanga Yoga 


1. Yama

2. Niyama

3. Asanas (yogic postures)

4. Pranayama (breath control)

5. Pratyahara (withdrawal of the mind from external objects, in preparation for internal practices)

6. Dharana (concentration)

7. Dhyana (meditation)

8. Samadhi (complete absorption in the object of meditation)


➡️ In regular classes for beginners and intermediate students of yoga, only the first 3 limbs are practiced

➡️ The remaining five are taught only to serious students at advanced levels